Official name
ADNOC Drilling
ADX · ADNOCDRILL

ADNOC Drilling · What the issuer can provide
Coverage follows a reconciled listed-security identity and dated evidence. Inclusion describes research scope only; it is not a ranking, recommendation or claim of complete financial coverage.
Open a card to inspect its public evidence. Missing, stale, conflicting or unavailable data is never replaced with an estimate.
Review ready · verified figures appear when approvedRevalidation is due; the dated record is not proof of current listing status.
Checked: 2026-08-03→AvailableVerified public issuer fields are available.
→Available3 source documents are linked to public facts.
→MissingNo linked activity currently passes every public source-document check.
→AvailableA rights-reviewed official identity source is linked.
→The fields below come from the current public company registry and any human-published issuer profile. Empty issuer-contact fields stay visibly missing until source and publication-rights review are complete.
Only exact-security, human-published activity that passes every public source-document check can appear here.
No linked update currently passes every public gate.
Open the full chronologyRequired identity fields are shown individually with their evidence state. A public link is not reuse permission, and a blank is never converted to a guess.
ADNOC Drilling
ADNOCDRILL
ADX · XADS
Not available in the public evidence layer
Listed equity
Energy · Drilling and Oilfield Services
Listing confirmed in the dated record
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
A verified public issuer profile has not been published yet.
ADX · ADNOCDRILL · Company profile
ADNOC Drilling: rigs, regional expansion and the cash cost of growth
Reading time: 10 min
Editorial date: 2026-08-31. Source periods and dates are stated below.
As of: 2026-06-30
ADNOC Drilling Company PJSC, listed on ADX as ADNOCDRILL, was incorporated in 1972. It supplies drilling and well-construction services for conventional and unconventional reservoirs and hires out land and offshore rigs. Its economics depend on contracts, activity and service delivery, rather than direct ownership of the oil and gas sold by its customers.
The business combines onshore drilling, offshore jack-up and island operations, and Oilfield Services (OFS). Integrated Drilling Services (IDS) combines drilling with additional well services. Wider service coverage can increase revenue per customer relationship, but a larger fleet does not by itself establish higher margins or cash returns. ADNOC’s upstream fields and reserves are not assets of this listed drilling company.
S2 · p. 11, 31 S3 · p. 13, 14As of: 2026-06-30
At 30 June 2026, XRG PJSC held 78.5%, Baker Hughes Holding SPV Ltd. held 5%, and other institutional and retail investors held 16.5%. XRG is wholly owned by ADNOC. The accounts explain that the transfer of the holding to XRG was an internal reorganisation: ADNOC retained governance control and remains the parent. Direct shareholding and ultimate control therefore need to be described separately.
The interim statements name Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber as chairman, Abdulla Ateya Al Messabi as chief executive and Youssef Samy Salem as chief financial officer. These are reporting-date roles. The strategic shareholder relationship is commercially important, but it does not remove minority-shareholder, customer-concentration or financing risks.
S2 · p. 6, 11 S3 · p. 17As of: 2026-06-30
ADH RSC LTD is the wholly owned holding platform. The interim subsidiary schedule includes SLDC Holding RSC LTD and MBPS Holding RSC LTD. Their outside shareholders create non-controlling interests in consolidated earnings. A controlling holding is not equivalent to owning all of the economics.
ENERSOL and Turnwell are separately disclosed as joint ventures, despite majority percentage interests. The accounts recognise the group’s share of their results and an investment carrying value, rather than adding all their revenue to consolidated sales. ENERSOL’s partner is Alpha Dhabi Energy Holding; Turnwell’s agreements involve Eastern Echo FZE and Patterson-UTI UAE LLC. The table is a selected reporting-date structure, not a complete current legal register.
S2 · p. 11, 12, 19| Entity | Holding | Classification | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| ADH RSC LTD | 100% | Subsidiary | S2 · p. 11 |
| SLDC Holding RSC LTD | 70% | Subsidiary | S2 · p. 11 |
| MBPS Holding RSC LTD | 80% | Subsidiary | S2 · p. 11 |
| ENERSOL Limited | 51% | Joint venture | S2 · p. 12, 19 |
| Turnwell Industries LLC | 55% | Joint venture | S2 · p. 12, 19 |
As of: 2026-06-30
The June 2026 fleet comprised 171 rigs: 141 in Abu Dhabi and 30 regional rigs outside the UAE. The domestic fleet comprised 92 onshore and 49 offshore rigs. Regional additions came from the SLDC and MBPS transactions; the reporting perimeter is therefore broader than a purely Abu Dhabi fleet.
The issuer reported 99% domestic owned-fleet availability and 394 domestic wells drilled during H1 2026. Neither measure covers the regional fleet. IDS covered 61 rigs at quarter-end, while at least one discrete OFS service was provided to another 53 rigs. These service-coverage measures must not be added to owned-rig counts.
MBPS has operations in Oman, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain. That operating footprint is not a disclosed country-by-country revenue mix: the financial statements say the group operates primarily in the UAE and do not provide a further geographical analysis of revenue.
S2 · p. 12, 31 S3 · p. 13, 14As of: 2026-06-30
The table retains reported USD thousands without rescaling. FY figures cover twelve months; H1 covers the six months ended 30 June, not the second quarter alone. The annual consolidated accounts are audited. The H1 consolidated information is unaudited, prepared under IAS 34 and reviewed under ISRE 2410; the reviewer does not express an audit opinion.
Revenue and group profit increased in both the annual and half-year comparisons. Management links the latest growth to regional acquisitions and drilling/services activity, partly offset by lower unconventional phasing. Since acquired businesses entered the perimeter, the change is not a like-for-like organic growth measure.
H1 2026 group profit of 705,545 includes non-controlling interests of 3,663; profit attributable to owners of the company is 701,882, all in USD thousands. The group-profit headline must not be presented as earnings entirely belonging to listed-company shareholders. Doubling H1 would also not constitute an issuer annual forecast.
S1 · p. 10, 12 S2 · p. 4, 7 S3 · p. 3As of: 2026-06-30
At 30 June 2026 cash and cash equivalents were USD 355,423 thousand and borrowings were USD 2,468,779 thousand. Borrowings include accrued interest and are net of transaction costs; leases and other financial liabilities are separate. This is not a total-liabilities figure.
The borrowing note lists the C/D facilities maturing in November 2027 and E/F in October 2030. Current borrowings were USD 1,221,269 thousand and non-current borrowings USD 1,247,510 thousand. Contractual facility dates should not replace the balance sheet’s current/non-current classification.
Current liabilities exceeded current assets by USD 434,817 thousand. Management identified no material going-concern uncertainty, citing undrawn facilities and forecast operating cash flows. That assessment does not eliminate working-capital pressure: cash collection, investment and dividend commitments still compete for liquidity.
S2 · p. 5, 6, 14, 21, 22, 23As of: 2026-07-30
The SLDC transaction closed in early January 2026, adding eight regional land rigs; the MBPS transaction closed in early May 2026, adding 22. These are completed transactions, not merely announced proposals. Their inclusion changes the fleet and earnings perimeter and creates integration and minority-interest considerations.
AD-300 was delivered and accepted in June 2026. The July management report expected another island rig to begin operations around mid-Q3 and further deliveries during 2027. Those expectations are dated plans, not confirmation that the remaining rigs are operational as of this profile. The report also describes a post-period organic deployment to Oman through the MBPS platform.
S2 · p. 12, 15, 16 S3 · p. 4, 13, 15As of: 2026-07-30
Management’s July outlook prioritises OFS, IDS, regional expansion and automation. Its FY2026 guidance includes approximately USD 5 billion revenue and cash capital expenditure excluding acquisitions of USD 0.6–0.8 billion. These are management targets, not realised results or editorial estimates. Execution depends on demand, rig deliveries and the timing of unconventional work.
The approved policy sets a USD 1.05 billion dividend floor for FY2026, with at least 5% annual growth through at least 2030. The report describes the Q2 dividend as approved with an expected payment date; this profile does not certify payment. Future dividends remain dependent on distributable reserves, investment needs, profits and approvals.
Editorial interpretation: the investment question is whether broader services and regional assets can produce cash after equipment spending and financing costs. A dividend policy provides a capital-allocation framework, not a guaranteed return or a valuation conclusion.
S3 · p. 15, 16As of: 2026-06-30
Editorial risk assessment: concentration in ADNOC-related customers links activity and collection to their investment and operating schedules. Regional expansion diversifies locations but introduces integration, local execution and geopolitical exposure. Different fleet perimeters and acquisition dates make simple year-on-year rig or profit comparisons less informative.
Equipment reliability, safety, maintenance and delivery delays can constrain revenue. A large contracted base does not prevent changes in the timing of unconventional services. Borrowing costs, inventory build and unbilled customer balances can weaken cash conversion even when accounting profit rises.
Technology and environmental-efficiency statements are issuer claims, not independently proven benefits in this profile. No target price, buy/sell recommendation or extrapolated return is supplied; those require a separate valuation and investor-specific decision.
S2 · p. 14, 26, 27 S3 · p. 3, 4, 15, 16As of: 2026-08-31
The official website is https://www.adnocdrilling.ae and the investor-relations contact form is linked in the sources. The July 2026 management report publishes the business IR addresses mcominelli@adnoc.ae, akamel@adnoc.ae and maelashry@adnoc.ae. The registered postal address in the accounts is P.O. Box 4017, Abu Dhabi, UAE.
Financial and ownership snapshots are dated 30 June 2026 unless otherwise labelled; annual results are for FY2025. The official results index checked on 31 August 2026 lists H1 2026 as the latest interim release. Page references below refer to physical PDF pages. This original business profile complements the existing dated review and does not certify that every July project plan or expected payment has since occurred.
S2 · p. 11 S3 · p. 17 S4 · Investor Relations Contacts / Contact us S5 · 2Q-2026 Results; FY 2025 ResultsIntegrated onshore/offshore drilling and oilfield services with ADNOC-linked domestic core and regional platforms.
Ninety-eight per cent fleet availability appears in every ADNOC Drilling results pack, and it is not the same thing as a rig earning a day rate. Contracted utilisation is not disclosed, day rates are not disclosed, and idle days are not disclosed, so the gap between a rig that could work and a rig being paid to work cannot be closed from published material. What is countable is physical: 140 domestic rigs at FY2025, 92 onshore and 48 offshore, the offshore half being 36 jack-ups and 12 island rigs, with 169 quoted on a pro-forma basis. Those rigs delivered 836 wells in FY2025, 666 onshore and 170 offshore, and 191 more in the first quarter of 2026.
Revenue moved from USD 2,269.470 million in FY2021 to USD 2,673.251, 3,056.865, 4,034.222 and 4,902.886 million, a rise of 116.0%. Profit after tax ran USD 603.913, 801.807, 1,032.799, 1,303.566 and 1,448.781 million, and operating cash flow USD 1,179.132, 1,523.811, 1,355.056, 1,653.666 and 2,225.843 million. The comparability is imperfect by construction: FY2021 and FY2022 are company reporting, consolidation begins in FY2023, and the 2026 purchases of a 70% stake in SLDC with eight rigs in Oman and Kuwait, closed in January, and 80% of MB Petroleum Services with 22 rigs, closed on 4 May, move the boundary again. Total assets were USD 6,120.953 million at FY2024 and USD 6,576.624 million at FY2025, with equity of USD 3,810.169 million and USD 4,099.312 million.
FY2025 onshore revenue was USD 2,037 million on earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation of USD 994 million, a 48.8% margin; offshore USD 1,404 million and USD 953 million, 67.9%; oilfield services USD 1,462 million and USD 251 million, 17.2%. The fastest-growing leg is the thinnest one, and unconventional work inside it went from USD 95 million to USD 534 million in a year, supported by a USD 1.7 billion award for 144 wells over more than two years, of which 83 had been drilled and 56 fractured by early February 2026.
Operating cash flow of USD 2,225.843 million covers dividends paid of USD 1,143.567 million by 1.946 times. Subtract what the year actually spent on assets and platforms — USD 805.215 million on property and equipment, USD 9.661 million on intangibles, USD 132.850 million into joint ventures and USD 90.926 million advanced for an acquisition — and USD 1,187.191 million remains, covering the same dividend 1.038 times. The issuer publishes free cash flow of USD 1,242 million on its own definition and capital spending of USD 604 million on an accrual basis; neither boundary produces the 1.038 figure. Borrowings were USD 2,269.039 million against USD 236.016 million of cash at FY2025, and the issuer's own half-year disclosure puts net debt at USD 2,158 million at 30 June 2026 after revenue of USD 2,460 million and profit of USD 706 million for the six months.
ADNOC Onshore and ADNOC Offshore generated 92.7% of FY2025 revenue, which is why revenue recognition became the auditor's key audit matter. Related-party revenue was USD 4,882.033 million, purchases back from the same group USD 869.467 million and lease payments USD 11.661 million. All seven directors are formally classified independent under an exemption dated 4 March 2024, a classification that sits awkwardly beside a controller who is also the principal customer. Internal audit issued 308 findings during FY2025: 158 ineffective controls, 127 inadequate controls and 23 improvements.
Severity, ageing, owners and closure evidence for those 308 findings are absent. So are rig-level contracted utilisation, day rates, an audited backlog ladder, contract escalators, take-or-pay minima, termination and renewal terms, the maintenance-versus-growth split of capital spending and the return on the SLDC and MBPS purchases. The audited file records the transfer of ADNOC's holding to wholly owned XRG, while the quarterly ownership disclosure still names ADNOC at 78.5%; the legal holder wording has not been reconciled. This review sets no target and takes no position.
The old summary table is temporarily withheld because its display did not preserve the exact relationship between metrics, periods and labels. This is a limitation of the website table, not a claim that the issuer did not disclose the data. The review text and sources are preserved. Review documents and sources.
The company-specific focus below fixes the perimeter before any operating or financial comparison. It contains no current value, forecast, valuation or market signal.
Physical volumes move through production, processing, drilling, logistics or retail networks and become revenue under commodity-linked, regulated or contracted terms.
Use the exact barrel, gas, drilling, product or retail denominator and one period.
Separate benchmark exposure, realised price, tariff, margin and pass-through mechanisms.
Distinguish owned assets, concessions, joint ventures, service contracts and announced projects.
Trace feedstock, operating cost, utilisation, maintenance and working capital before reading margin.
Connect sustaining and growth capex to capacity, contracts, financing and commissioning dates.
A manually reviewed, paraphrased snapshot from issuer and official market records. Each field keeps its exact source and verification date.
A drilling and integrated drilling-services provider operating onshore and offshore fleets and delivering end-to-end well solutions across the drilling value chain.
The metrics below define the correct analytical lens for this business model. They contain no company values: a value appears only after official-document provenance and editorial verification.
Only exact-security activity that passes the automatic source, locator, date and localization gates is shown. Exceptions remain unpublished. Each date keeps its lifecycle meaning.
No linked activity currently passes every public source-document check.
This company appears in the dated public collections below. Membership describes coverage and evidence context; it is not a ranking or recommendation.
Public profiles with canonical exchange ADX.
Public profiles assigned to this sector in the dated public registry.
Public profiles with a complete source-linked review currently visible to every reader.
Dated public identity checks earlier than 18 August 2026; this does not assert current listing status.
Open this company's free source-linked fundamental-review preview or compare coverage packs and ongoing monitoring. Coverage is not an investment ranking.