Official name
National General Insurance
DFM · NGI

National General Insurance · What the issuer can provide
Coverage follows a reconciled listed-security identity and dated evidence. Inclusion describes research scope only; it is not a ranking, recommendation or claim of complete financial coverage.
Open a card to inspect its public evidence. Missing, stale, conflicting or unavailable data is never replaced with an estimate.
Identity-only public coverage; no completed research review is claimed.Revalidation is due; the dated record is not proof of current listing status.
Checked: 2026-08-11→AvailableVerified public issuer fields are available.
→Available3 source documents are linked to public facts.
→MissingNo linked activity currently passes every public source-document check.
→AvailableA rights-reviewed official identity source is linked.
→The fields below come from the current public company registry and any human-published issuer profile. Empty issuer-contact fields stay visibly missing until source and publication-rights review are complete.
Only exact-security, human-published activity that passes every public source-document check can appear here.
No linked update currently passes every public gate.
Open the full chronologyRequired identity fields are shown individually with their evidence state. A public link is not reuse permission, and a blank is never converted to a guess.
National General Insurance
NGI
DFM · XDFM
AEN000301012
Listed equity
Financial services and insurance · UAE multiline life and non-life insurance
Primary active route confirmed
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
Not available in the public evidence layer
A verified public issuer profile has not been published yet.
DFM · NGI · Company profile
National General Insurance: business and owners, FY2025 and H1 2026 results, reinsurance, investment risk, solvency and official contacts.
Reading time: 10 min
Editorial date: 2026-08-31. Annual audit, interim review and regulatory measures retain their separate periods and scope.
As of: 2026-06-30; corporate page checked2026-08-31
National General Insurance Co. (P.J.S.C.), traded on the Dubai Financial Market as NGI, provides general and life insurance in the UAE. It is a separate issuer from Dubai Insurance and Dubai National Insurance. The interim legal note dates its incorporation to 19 November 1980 and conversion into a public joint-stock company to 12 September 2001. Its headquarters are in Dubai.
The useful way to read NGI is through two interacting businesses: underwriting insurance obligations and investing the assets supporting those obligations and shareholders’ capital. Rising insurance revenue does not necessarily mean rising net profit. The first half of 2026 illustrates that distinction: insurance service result improved, while investment income and profit after tax declined. This profile uses the Company reporting perimeter in the statements; it does not invent a consolidated group or attribute shareholders’ banking businesses to NGI.
S1 · S1 physical1,8/printed7; S3 overview S3 · S1 physical1,8/printed7; S3 overviewAs of: 2026-06-30; product page checked2026-08-31
The public product range spans medical, motor, travel, home and life cover, alongside corporate property, marine, engineering, energy, liability and other insurance. These are product offerings, not a disclosed revenue split. The interim segment note identifies insurance and investments as the two operating segments, separates general insurance from life within insurance, and states that the Company conducts no business outside the UAE.
For H1 2026, general insurance generated AED560.002452 million of insurance revenue and life AED36.160259 million. Their insurance service results were AED55.365539 million and AED5.313874 million respectively. General insurance therefore provides most of the disclosed insurance activity, but the life and investment exposures should not be ignored. The selected sources do not establish an emirate-by-emirate revenue breakdown or a separate subsidiary ownership schedule; neither is reconstructed from branch locations or shareholder names.
S1 · S1 physical33–34/printed32–33, note21; S3 product navigation S3 · S1 physical33–34/printed32–33, note21; S3 product navigationAs of: IR observed2026-08-31, underlying register date not stated; financial signatories2026-08-12
The issuer’s public IR table lists Dubai Investments at 48.3394%, Commercial Bank of Dubai at 17.7475% and First Investor at 5.7997%. The table does not state the effective date of the shareholder register and warns that ownership can change. These are the figures displayed when checked on 31 August 2026, not a independently confirmed register as of that day. They should not be used as a live free-float calculation or proof of accounting control.
The June financial-position statement was approved on 12 August 2026 and is signed by chairman Dr. Hamad Mubarak Buamim and chief executive Dr. Abdul Zahra A. Ali. Their roles are anchored to that approval date. Share capital was AED164.949523 million at both 31 December 2025 and 30 June 2026. The decline in total equity during the half-year was not a reduction of this paid-up capital.
S1 · S3 Top Shareholder Information; S1 physical3/printed2 S3 · S3 Top Shareholder Information; S1 physical3/printed2As of: FY2025, comparativeFY2024
FY2025 insurance revenue was AED1,016.998785 million, against AED874.018209 million in 2024. Insurance service result increased to AED80.003188 million from AED62.726515 million. Profit after tax nevertheless declined to AED119.186339 million from AED127.499700 million, as total investment income fell to AED103.394026 million from AED120.972486 million and other financial and operating items also affected the bottom line.
The board’s annual commentary separately reports rounded gross written premiums of AED1.157 billion, versus AED0.979 billion. Written premiums are not interchangeable with accounting insurance revenue. The same commentary identifies a rounded AED37.9 million one-off land-disposal gain in the 2024 comparison. That is useful context for investment-income comparisons, not a recurring earnings assumption or a reason to replace the reported profit with an invented adjusted figure. Grant Thornton’s annual opinion addresses IFRS Accounting Standards; that annual audit status does not extend to the interim report.
S2 · physical2/board report; physical4/printed3 audit opinion; physical11/printed10 profit or lossAs of: H12026 versusH12025; Q2 separately
The most recent interim financial report located on the issuer’s IR page covers the six months ended 30 June 2026. Insurance revenue rose to AED596.162711 million from AED481.073190 million in H1 2025. Insurance service result increased to AED60.679413 million from AED51.990968 million. Profit before tax, however, decreased to AED68.570375 million from AED91.299069 million, and profit after tax to AED63.798045 million from AED85.246582 million.
The same statement also provides a separate three-month column: Q2-only profit after tax was AED45.362660 million, versus AED49.667720 million. It is not the half-year result. The interim statements are unaudited IAS34 information subject to an auditor’s review, not a full audit. The Company says comparative figures were reclassified for presentation without changing previously reported total assets, liabilities, equity or profit. Comparisons here follow the figures presented in this report rather than mixing earlier releases.
S1 · physical2/printed1 review; physical4/printed3 profit or loss; physical35/printed34 comparatives| Metric / unit | Comparative period | Comparative value | Current period | Current value | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY insurance revenue · AED million | 2024-01-01/2024-12-31 | 874.018209 | 2025-01-01/2025-12-31 | 1016.998785 | S2 · S2 physical11,printed10 |
| FY profit after tax · AED million | 2024-01-01/2024-12-31 | 127.4997 | 2025-01-01/2025-12-31 | 119.186339 | S2 · S2 physical11,printed10 |
| H1 insurance revenue · AED million | 2025-01-01/2025-06-30 | 481.07319 | 2026-01-01/2026-06-30 | 596.162711 | S1 · S1 physical4,printed3 |
| H1 insurance service result · AED million | 2025-01-01/2025-06-30 | 51.990968 | 2026-01-01/2026-06-30 | 60.679413 | S1 · S1 physical4,printed3 |
| H1 total investment income · AED million | 2025-01-01/2025-06-30 | 60.395362 | 2026-01-01/2026-06-30 | 18.049024 | S1 · S1 physical4,printed3 |
| H1 profit after tax · AED million | 2025-01-01/2025-06-30 | 85.246582 | 2026-01-01/2026-06-30 | 63.798045 | S1 · S1 physical4,printed3 |
| Q2-only profit after tax · AED million | 2025-04-01/2025-06-30 | 49.66772 | 2026-04-01/2026-06-30 | 45.36266 | S1 · S1 physical4,printed3 |
| H1 operating cash flow · AED million | 2025-01-01/2025-06-30 | 38.176842 | 2026-01-01/2026-06-30 | 66.247179 | S1 · S1 physical7,printed6 |
| Total assets at period end · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 1662.647271 | 2026-06-30 | 1739.806842 | S1 · S1 physical3,printed2 |
| Total equity at period end · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 693.895478 | 2026-06-30 | 679.941655 | S1 · S1 physical3,printed2 |
| Insurance contract liabilities · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 871.050535 | 2026-06-30 | 955.709768 | S1 · S1 physical3,printed2 |
| Bank balances and cash · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 44.023009 | 2026-06-30 | 64.75962 | S1 · S1 physical3,printed2 |
| Fixed deposits (separate from cash) · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 564.115206 | 2026-06-30 | 430.959206 | S1 · S1 physical3,printed2 |
| Basic own funds · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 523.501324 | 2026-06-30 | 510.87943 | S1 · S1 physical35,printed34 |
| Solvency capital requirement (SCR) · AED million | 2025-12-31 | 216.207508 | 2026-06-30 | 272.05015 | S1 · S1 physical35,printed34 |
As of: H12026 versusH12025
Before reinsurance contracts held, insurance service result fell to AED113.254294 million from AED180.408415 million. Insurance service expenses increased more rapidly in absolute terms than insurance revenue. After reinsurance, the service result improved because net reinsurance expense narrowed to AED52.574881 million from AED128.417447 million. Amounts recoverable from reinsurers for incurred claims increased to AED207.079578 million from AED78.405695 million, while allocated reinsurance premiums also increased.
The editorial conclusion is narrower than saying that every part of underwriting improved: the reported net result benefited from the way reinsurance absorbed claims in this period. Recoveries support risk transfer but do not remove counterparty or collection risk. The general and life results also moved differently: life service result was lower than its comparative, even though the combined insurance service result increased. An unsupported combined ratio would conceal rather than clarify these distinctions, so none is supplied.
S1 · physical4/printed3; physical33–34/printed32–33As of: H12026 versusH12025; asset stocks2026-06-30
H1 total investment income declined to AED18.049024 million from AED60.395362 million. The fair-value line for assets measured through profit or loss moved from a gain of AED23.862198 million to a loss of AED11.125574 million. Other investment income, which includes dividends and deposit income, increased to AED28.926361 million from AED26.544385 million. This mix explains why lower total investment income should not be described simply as a collapse in interest receipts.
At 30 June, investment securities were AED592.614943 million, investment property AED75.625000 million and unit-linked investments held on behalf of policyholders AED131.339205 million. The last category must not be portrayed as freely distributable shareholders’ cash. Market movements can affect profit and other comprehensive income differently; neither should be silently treated as cash generated by selling policies. The 2024 land gain is an additional annual-comparison caveat, separate from the H1 market movements.
S1 · S1 physical3–4,31/printed2–3,30; S2 physical2,11 S2 · S1 physical3–4,31/printed2–3,30; S2 physical2,11As of: 2026-06-30 versus2025-12-31; cash flowsH12026 versusH12025
Total assets reached AED1,739.806842 million at 30 June 2026, compared with AED1,662.647271 million at year-end. Bank balances and cash were AED64.759620 million and fixed deposits AED430.959206 million, versus AED44.023009 million and AED564.115206 million respectively. These categories should remain separate: deposits include different maturities and are not automatically all cash equivalents available on demand.
Operating cash flow was positive at AED66.247179 million, compared with AED38.176842 million in H1 2025. The cash-flow statement also shows a release of bank deposits and purchases of investments. Cash growth therefore cannot be attributed solely to higher accounting profit, which actually declined. Insurance contract liabilities of AED955.709768 million are obligations arising from the insurance business, not an industrial borrowing balance. Reinsurance contract assets of AED352.721102 million are likewise not cash already received. The selected disclosure does not justify an invented net-debt figure or a complete borrowing-maturity ladder.
S1 · physical3/printed2 financial position; physical7/printed6 cash flow; physical8/printed7 classificationAs of: 2026-06-30 versus2025-12-31; dividendsH12026
Note22 reports basic own funds of AED510.879430 million at June-end, down from AED523.501324 million. The solvency capital requirement increased to AED272.050150 million from AED216.207508 million. Basic own funds still exceeded the reported requirement, but the combination of lower funds and a higher requirement means less headroom on these disclosed amounts. These are insurance regulatory measures, not bank CET1 or capital-adequacy ratios, and basic own funds are not the same as accounting equity.
Accounting equity declined to AED679.941655 million from AED693.895478 million. The statement of changes in equity shows AED63.798045 million of profit, negative other comprehensive income of AED3.524583 million and AED74.227285 million of dividends paid. These movements reconcile the lower closing equity despite a profitable half-year. A distribution already paid is a historical fact, not a forecast of the next dividend or evidence that the same payout can be maintained under every claims and market scenario.
S1 · physical35/printed34 note22; physical3,6/printed2,5 equityAs of: reporting information through2026-06-30, approved2026-08-12
The operating priorities suggested by the disclosed business are disciplined insurance pricing, claims management, effective reinsurance and an investment mix consistent with liabilities. This is editorial interpretation of the financial structure, not management guidance for future revenue or profit. Neither a new acquisition pipeline nor a quantified future growth target is established by the selected evidence, so none is added to make the profile appear more complete.
The interim basis note discusses regional geopolitical tensions and military escalation, uncertainty and management monitoring of counterparty exposures and business continuity. It does not quantify a specific loss for NGI from those events. In subsequent reporting, the useful questions are whether the pre-reinsurance service result improves, whether recoveries convert into collections, how investment volatility affects earnings and reserves, and whether solvency resources keep pace with growing requirements. These are monitoring questions, not predictions or a share recommendation.
S1 · S1 physical8,33–35/printed7,32–34; S2 physical2 board context S2 · S1 physical8,33–35/printed7,32–34; S2 physical2 board contextAs of: public page checked2026-08-31; page update date not stated
The official website is ngi.ae and financial reports are available in its Investor Relations section. The public head-office address is NGI House, Port Saeed Street, Deira, Dubai, P.O. Box154, UAE. The contact page lists telephone +9714 2115800 and fax +9714 2502854. These are published business contacts, not private employee numbers.
The page was checked on 31 August 2026; it does not provide a separate update date. An unambiguously readable current corporate email was not obtained from the selected contact-page rendering, so no address has been guessed. The official contact page is provided for readers needing the current communication channel.
S4 · Contact Us / Head OfficeAs of: editorial check2026-08-31; financial periods as labelled
NGI combines a predominantly general-insurance operating base with a material investment portfolio. The annual and interim evidence should be read together: insurance service result improved, while total profit remained sensitive to investment returns, reinsurance effects and distributions. Balance-sheet growth alone is not proof of better underwriting or a larger regulatory cushion.
The table retains full reported dirham amounts normalized only to AED million; annual flows, half-year flows, quarterly profit and dated stocks are labelled separately. The public ownership table has no register date, subsidiary detail is not reconstructed, and the profile does not certify all source documents. It is original editorial reporting with links to the official statements, not a valuation, a credit rating, an audit opinion on the article or a recommendation to trade.
S1 · selected pages and public sections cited above S2 · selected pages and public sections cited above S3 · selected pages and public sections cited above S4 · selected pages and public sections cited aboveDubai-headquartered multiline insurer selling general/property, engineering, liability, marine, energy, aviation, motor, medical and life cover, including unit-linked, credit/group life and specialty products. Customers pay premiums to transfer risk; NGI recognises insurance revenue as service is provided, pays claims and acquisition/operating costs, cedes selected risk to reinsurers and invests assets supporting obligations. Economics depend on pricing, claims frequency/severity, reserve adequacy, medical inflation, retention and reinsurance quality, investment returns, solvency and distribution efficiency.
On its corporate pages NGI lists Emirates NBD and Commercial Bank of Dubai as key shareholders. The verified holder list at 31 December 2025 reads differently: Dubai Investments PJSC 48.3394%, Commercial Bank of Dubai PJSC 17.7475% and The First Investor 5.7997%. Emirates NBD does not appear there. Those three hold 71.8866%, and the arithmetic remainder is not an executable free float. The insurer has traded since 1980, keeps six branches across Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Ajman, and carries an A- financial strength rating from AM Best. Related-party insurance revenue in FY2025 was AED66.9m against AED80.5m of related-party claims.
FY2021 and the original FY2022 were prepared under IFRS 4: gross written premium AED645.803m and AED650.234m, underwriting profit AED41.547m and AED50.734m. IFRS 17 applies from FY2023, and the FY2022 comparative was restated into insurance revenue of AED621.424m. On that base revenue moved through AED745.786m, AED874.018m and AED1,016.999m, a gain of 63.7% in three years. Profit after tax ran AED70.785m, AED60.537m restated, AED74.879m, AED127.500m and AED119.186m. Total assets shifted from AED1,504.462m to AED1,662.647m, up 10.5% across five reported years, while equity rose from AED533.074m to AED693.895m. FY2025 gross written premium of AED1,157m and statutory insurance revenue of AED1,016.999m are separate measures, never interchangeable.
FY2024 service result before reinsurance fell to AED24.209m, while the net reinsurance result was a positive AED38.518m. FY2025 inverted that: AED333.881m before reinsurance against AED253.878m of net ceded expense, leaving AED80.003m. The derived service margin ran 9.01% in restated FY2022, then 6.00%, 7.18% and 7.87%. Reinsurance assets closed FY2025 at AED289.418m against AED13.193m of liabilities, a net AED276.225m position that was 37.47% below the prior AED441.745m. Reserving uses chain ladder and Bornhuetter-Ferguson, with the risk adjustment at the 75th percentile, carried at AED14.856m against a present value of incurred claims of AED445.623m. Life liabilities outside the premium allocation approach were AED183.412m and the remaining contractual service margin AED24.555m.
Investment income was AED103.394m in FY2025. In the first half of 2026 it fell 70.12% to AED18.049m, including an AED11.126m fair-value loss. Profit dropped 25.16% to AED63.798m even as the service result improved to AED60.679m from AED51.991m. Half-year revenue was AED596.163m: the general segment produced AED560.002m of revenue and AED55.366m of result, life AED36.160m and AED5.314m. FY2025 investments of AED605.285m equalled 36.40% of assets, and AED321.792m or 53.16% sat outside the UAE. The audited FY2025 note states that exposures exceeded Central Bank of the UAE concentration limits on equities inside and outside the country and on deposits and other debt instruments; neither the size of the excess nor a remediation date is given. Basic own funds at 30 June 2026 were AED510.879m against a requirement of AED272.050m, a coverage of 187.79% after 225.02% at 31 March and 242.13% at end-2025.
FY2025 operating cash of AED162.084m looks larger than profit, yet before insurance and reinsurance balance movements it was only AED44.423m, or 37.27% of profit after tax. The half-year figure of AED66.247m contained negative AED70.261m on contract assets and positive AED92.206m on liabilities. The FY2025 dividend of AED0.45 per share, AED74.227m in total, approved on 14 April 2026 and paid on 4 May, exceeded that half-year inflow. At 30 June 2026 assets stood at AED1,739.807m and equity at AED679.942m.
Undisclosed: combined and loss ratios for motor, medical and general lines; accident-year reserve development triangles; named reinsurers with ratings, collateral and collection ageing; the numeric size of the investment-limit excess and its remediation schedule; issuer-level look-through inside the portfolio. The original IFRS 4 FY2022 and the restated IFRS 17 FY2022 are held apart and never joined into one series. No price, no target level and no portfolio instruction appears on this page.
The old summary table is temporarily withheld because its display did not preserve the exact relationship between metrics, periods and labels. This is a limitation of the website table, not a claim that the issuer did not disclose the data. The review text and sources are preserved. Review documents and sources.
This layer defines the document questions for this exact listed entity. It publishes no premium, claim, reserve, solvency, valuation or performance value.
The insurer prices risk, collects premium, pays claims, buys reinsurance and invests funds held between collection and settlement. Sustainable profit requires both disciplined underwriting and an investment result that is not masking insurance losses.
Written premium or takaful contributions show contracts originated during a period, not revenue already earned. Read product, geography, gross/net basis and contract duration before calling the movement growth.
Insurance revenue under IFRS 17 follows service provided, while cash collection and written premium follow different timelines. Compare periods only after confirming the accounting transition, restatements and exact group perimeter.
Connect incurred claims, claims paid, changes in liabilities and prior-year development. A quiet claims period can reverse later; a reserve release is not the same as stronger current underwriting.
Read gross business, ceded premium or contributions, recoveries, counterparty exposure and net retained risk together. Reinsurance can reduce volatility but introduces cost, credit risk and renewal dependence.
Insurers invest the float and shareholder capital. Separate recurring interest or sukuk income, dividends, fair-value movements, realised gains and currency effects from the insurance-service result.
Insurance liabilities, available capital and regulatory solvency must share the same entity, date and official basis. Accounting equity, group cash and regulatory capital are related but not interchangeable.
A manually reviewed, paraphrased snapshot from issuer and official market records. Each field keeps its exact source and verification date.
Official website, investor-relations, market-record and public contact fields remain unavailable here until their exact source, current value and reuse boundary are reviewed. Nothing is inferred from aggregators or another company.
The metrics below define the correct analytical lens for this business model. They contain no company values: a value appears only after official-document provenance and editorial verification.
Only exact-security activity that passes the automatic source, locator, date and localization gates is shown. Exceptions remain unpublished. Each date keeps its lifecycle meaning.
No linked activity currently passes every public source-document check.
This company appears in the dated public collections below. Membership describes coverage and evidence context; it is not a ranking or recommendation.
Public profiles with canonical exchange DFM.
Public profiles with a complete source-linked review currently visible to every reader.
Dated public identity checks earlier than 18 August 2026; this does not assert current listing status.
Open this company's free source-linked fundamental-review preview or compare coverage packs and ongoing monitoring. Coverage is not an investment ranking.